The Review Named Pacemaker Winner

For the second time in school history, The Review has received a Pacemaker award, the highest honor in scholastic journalism. Awards were announced on November 3 at the annual fall convention, held this year in Chicago. The Review previously received a Pacemaker in 2015.

Presented by the National Scholastic Press Association, the Pacemaker is awarded for each type of publication – online, newspaper, yearbook, magazine, and broadcast. Entries are judged by teams of professionals based on the following criteria: coverage and content, quality of writing and reporting, leadership, design, photography and graphics.

“We are thrilled to learn about The Review being singled out as one of the best high school newspapers in the country. It’s a wonderful reflection of the talent of the students and the faculty that sponsor them," noted Headmaster Mark Desjardins.

The Review Editorial Board for 2017-2018 included Ashwini Bandi '18, Gracie Blue '18, Emily Chen '18, Claire Furse '18, and Dani Yan '18. Review advisers are David Nathan, Shelley Stein, and Chuy Benitez.

"As a newspaper, you can't plan for a disaster, but fortunately we had exactly the right editors in place to lead our Hurricane Harvey coverage" stated Review adviser David Nathan. "There are so many phenomenal student publications around, so you can never take a Pacemaker for granted, but after winning a Best of Show award last year for our first issue, I knew we were on the right track."
Individual award winners from The Review included Noël Madland '18 (Editorial Cartoon) 4th Place; Lilah Gaber '19 (Opinion) 4th Place; Ashwini Bandi '18 & Stephen Kim '19 (Front Page Design) 5th Place; Thomas Hunt '19 & Alex Tinkham '19 (Broadcast Feature Story) Honorable Mention; and Sophia Lima '20 & Will McKone '20 (Multimedia Sports Story Package) Honorable Mention.

"It's such a privilege to receive a Pacemaker. We had so many people contributing copious amounts of their time and energy to make this paper happen, and we're thrilled to be recognized for our efforts" remarked current print co-Editor-in-Chief Iris Chen '18. Current print co-Editor-in-Chief Sophie Caldwell '18 also noted, "We are incredibly proud of the work we did last year, and we were elated that our paper was recognized for it.”

To see all Pacemaker award winners and finalists: http://studentpress.org/nspa/awards/npm18

St. John's School

© 2018 St. John’s School. All Rights Reserved.