This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.
St. John's Alumni
Reunion Weekend '24

Alumni Award Recipients

2024 Recipients

List of 1 items.

Previous Recipients

List of 37 items.

  • 2023

    H. Grant Taylor, Jr. '63, Distinguished Alumnus
    Stobie Whitmore '68, Lamp of Knowledge
    Ransom Lummis, Honorary Alumnus
    Emma Erwin '11, Honorary Alumna
  • 2022

    K. C. Weiner '72, Distinguished Alumnus
    Richie Mercado '79, Lamp of Knowledge
    Donna Palmer, Honorary Alumna 
    Susan Spitzberg, Honorary Alumna 
  • 2020

    Dr. Katherine Y. King '92, Distinguished Alumna 
    Wendall Zartman, Lamp of Knowledge
    Angie Kensinger, Honorary Alumna 
    Justise Winslow '14, Maverick Award  
  • 2019

    Jay Jones ’69, Distinguished Alumnus 
    Daniel Friedman, Lamp of Knowledge 
    Anne Chao, Honorary Alumnus 
    Peter Fluor ’07, Maverick Award
  • 2018

    Joseph Slotnick ’51, Distinguished Alumnus 
    Doug Sharp, Lamp of Knowledge 
    Michael Cullinan, Honorary Alumnus
    Marcia Polk Fuller Biggs ’94, Maverick Award
  • 2017

    Ann Barnett Stern ’75, Distinguished Alumnus
    Eleanor Cannon, Lamp of Knowledge
    Rebecca Rabinow ’84, Maverick Award 
    Alison Weaver ’89, Maverick Award
    Kathy Heinzerling, Honorary Alumnus 
  • 2016

    Judge William Bryson ’63, Distinguished Alumnus
    Gara Johnson-West, Current Faculty, Lamp of Knowledge
    Warner Banes, Faculty Emeritus, Honorary Alumnus
    Stuart Kensinger ’81, Maverick Award
  • 2015

    Dr. Emilie Atwell Becker '78, Distinguished Alumnus
    Dr. Ruth Bellows, Current Faculty, Lamp of Knowledge
    Geneva Gard, former faculty, Honorary Alumnus
    Paul Davey '82, Maverick Award
  • 2014

    Gordon Dees '69, Distinguished Alumnus
    Barbara DiPaolo, current faculty, Lamp of Knowledge
    Julie Russ, Faculty Emeritus, Honorary Alumnus
    Zachary Heinzerling '02, Maverick Award
  • 2013

    Bob Graham '64, Distinguished Alumnus
    Dwight Raulston '71, current faculty, Lamp of Knowledge
    Jerry Harper, Faculty Emeritus, Honorary Alumnus
  • 2012

    Pat Prior Sorrells '69, Distinguished Alumnus
    Marty Thompson '91, Lamp of Knowledge
    Alice Kagi, Honorary Alumnus
    James J. Murphy IV '83, Craig Chambers '81, Charles Davidson '81, Maverick Award
  • 2011

    Dr. David Hirsh '59, Distinguished Alumnus
    Martha Strawn, Faculty Emerita, Honorary Alumnus
  • 2010

    The Right Reverend Robert Moody '59, Distinguished Alumnus
    Edison Medina, Honorary Alumnus
    Dr. Christie Ballantyne '73, Maverick Award
  • 2009

    William Mares '58, Distinguished Alumnus
    Assistant Headmaster Mark Reed, Honorary Alumnus
    Ellen Peeples Cregan '81, Maverick Award
  • 2008

    James A. Elkins, III '70, Distinguished Alumnus
    Lee Knauerhaze, Honorary Alumnus (awarded posthumously)
    Katherine Pannill Center '90, Maverick Award
  • 2007

    L. Henry Gissel '54, Distinguished Alumnus
    J.L. Mayhew, Honorary Alumnus
    Patsy Cravens '54, Maverick Award
  • 2006

    Peter H. Brown '54, Distinguished Alumnus
    Edward W. Kelley, Jr., Honorary Alumna
    Elizabeth Dodge Schwab '90, Maverick Award (awarded posthumously)
  • 2005

    William S. Farish '57, Distinguished Alumnus
    Suzy J. Mercado, Honorary Alumna
    Stuart Dow '84, Maverick Award
  • 2004

    Dr. Michael Berkeley '71, Distinguished Alumnus
    Mr. Douglas E. Osburn, Honorary Alumnus
    Ms. Catherine Lippincott '81, Rebel Award
  • 2003

    Mr. Peter Roussel ’60, Distinguished Alumnus
    Mr. Chuck Garwood, Honorary Alumnus
  • 2002

    Mr. John W. Johnson ’63, Distinguished Alumnus
    Ms. Helen T. Vietor, Honorary Alumna
  • 2001

    Mr. Alfred P. Hildebrand ‘59, Distinguished Alumnus
    Mr. Henry J.N. Taub, Honorary Alumnus
    Mr. Robert L. Fleming, Jr. ‘86, Rebel Award
  • 2000

    Mr. Williams W. Heinzerling ‘64, Distinguished Alumnus
    Ms. Susan Pitzer Stasney, Honorary Alumna
    Mr. John N. Axelrod ‘84, Rebel Award
  • 1999

    Captain William F. Miller, M.D. ’69, Distinguished Alumnus
    Mr. E. Philip Cannon, Honorary Alumnus
  • 1998

    Mr. Bruce M. Harrington ‘51, Distinguished Alumnus
    Mr. Skip Lee, Honorary Alumnus
    Ms. Christy A. Haubegger ‘86, Rebel Award
  • 1997

    Mr. Mike S. Stude ‘57 & Dr. Wylie Vale, Jr. ‘59, Distinguished Alumnus
    Mr. Philip W. Richards & Ms. Marie Phelps McAshan, Honorary Alumnus
    Mr. Wesley W. Anderson ‘87, Rebel Award
  • 1996

    Dr. Kathryn Bloom Hiesinger ‘61, Distinguished Alumna
    Dr. George D. Broyles, Jr., Honorary Alumnus
  • 1995

    Mr. Carl W. Vogt ‘54, Distinguished Alumnus
    Mrs. Alan Lake Chidsey, Honorary Alumna
    Ms. Molly Ivins ‘62, Rebel Award
  • 1993

    Dr. William L. Risser ‘60
  • 1992

    Mrs. Carey Chenoweth Shuart ‘62
    Mr. Willard Warren Shuart ‘59
  • 1991

    Ms. Lois Farfel Stark ‘61
  • 1990

    Mr. Robert P. Moore
  • 1989

    Mr. James Greenwood III ‘54
  • 1988

    Ms. Louisa Stude Sarofim ‘54
  • 1987

    Dr. Herbert H. Schaumburg ‘52
  • 1986

    Mr. E.K. Salls
  • 1985

    Dr. Jesse H. Dickson ‘51

Distinguished Alumnus/a

The Distinguished Alumnus/a Award is given to an alumnus/a in recognition of outstanding achievements or contributions to St. John’s, the community, the state, or the nation.

Lamp of Knowledge

The Lamp of Knowledge (adopted in 2012) is awarded to a current St. John’s faculty member who inspired recent graduates to live according to the St. John’s Mission. A Lamp of Knowledge teacher guides students in their pursuit of individual, spiritual, ethical, intellectual, social, and physical excellence helping prepare students for a lifetime of personal fulfillment and contribution to society. St. John’s graduates from the past decade may nominate any current faculty member for the award. A committee of the St. John’s Alumni Board will choose the recipient from the list of nominees, subject to the Head of School’s approval.

Honorary Alumnus/a

The Honorary Alumnus/a Award is given to a non-alumnus/a in recognition of and appreciation for that person’s endeavors. Nominees for the Honorary Alumnus/a Award may include parents, grandparents, children of St. John’s alumni, former faculty members, former Heads of School, or former Trustees. They may also include a non-alum who has had a direct impact on St. John’s School.

Maverick Award

The Maverick Award is given from time to time to a St. John’s School alumnus/alumna, regardless of age or experience, in recognition of a personal, professional, or artistic accomplishment and/or accomplishments which reflect(s) the creative and independent spirit that St. John’s School seeks to instill in its students.

St. John's School

© 2018 St. John’s School. All Rights Reserved.